UNESCO Organization


UNESCO Organization

Is one of the organizations of the United Nations; as UNESCO shares the United Nations goals in peace, justice, human rights, support for social and economic progress and the pursuit of a standard of living.

This is a short name for the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), and in view of the importance of what it offers to the world of development projects and developmental work, which will be discussed in detail.

The establishing of UNESCO

UNESCO was founded in 1945, headquartered in the French capital Paris, which opened in 1958.

It is divided into about 50 branches and field offices, as well as several educational and training institutes around the world. Today it has 193 members.

UNESCO History

UNESCO was founded on the ruins of the Second World War. The governments of the European countries that confronted Nazi Germany and its allies in the midst of World War II held a meeting in England of the Alliances Education Ministers’ Conference to discuss how they could rebuild education systems after the end of the World War II and the spread of security again.

These efforts culminated in the establishment of an organization aimed at establishing a true culture of peace after a United Nations conference on the establishment of a culture and education organization. The conference was attended by 40 countries, with the encouragement of the United Kingdom and France. The organization subsequently adopted a global dimension, prompting new countries such as the United States to enter it.

This new organization should have sought to achieve intellectual and moral solidarity among human beings in order to prevent the outbreak of a new world war. At the end of the Conference, 37 States had ratified and signed the founding charter of the Organization.

The Charter was implemented in 1946 after being ratified by 20 other countries: Brazil, Turkey, Australia, China, France, Denmark, Saudi Arabia, Czechoslovakia, South Africa, the Dominican Republic, Canada, Greece, Mexico, Lebanon, Egypt, United Kingdom, New Zealand, India, Norway and the United States of America.

The origins of UNESCO

  • International Education Office in Geneva.
  • International Committee on Intellectual Cooperation (CICI) in Geneva.
  • Executive Committee of the International Institute for Intellectual Cooperation (IICI) in Paris.

UNESCO Message

The organization seeks mainly to contribute to the peace, security and safety of people around the world to replace political and sectarian wars.

It also seeks to achieve sustainable development, eradicate poverty and establish intercultural dialogue through education, culture, science, communication and information.

Its work includes five core programs: cultivation, education, humanities, connections and communication around the world, including the media.

In particular, UNESCO focuses on two important priorities:

  • Gender equality.

UNESCO Objective

UNESCO works to create suitable conditions for dialogue among civilizations, cultures, and peoples on the basis of respect for common values to achieve global visions of sustainable development, which include respect for human rights, mutual respect and poverty alleviation. Its overall objectives include:

  • Establishing and supporting freedom of expression.
  • Encourage scientific progress.
  • Preserve heritage, as it is a bridge between generations.
  • Achieve quality education for all and provide access to lifelong learning.
  • Managing Science Policy and Knowledge for Sustainable Development.
  • Handling the emerged social and ethical challenges.
  • Promoting cultural diversity, intercultural dialogue and a culture of peace.
  • Provide security and peace for all peoples of the world.

UNESCO Constitution

The text of the Constitution of the Organization reads: “Since wars are born in the minds of men, in their minds the defenses of peace must be built.” All States participating in UNESCO and those in favor of its constituent text have committed themselves to ensure equal access to education for all categories of society under their rule without distinction or discrimination while providing the freedom to seek truth and freedom of exchange of ideas and information.

Organizations governing the work of UNESCO

General Conference: It shall consist of deputies from the Member States joining UNESCO. The General Conference of UNESCO shall be held every two years, as each member States shall draw up the Organization’s Plan of Action during the following two years.

Executive Board: The UNESCO Governing Council, which prepares, monitors and improves the objectives of the General Conference and monitor the decisions and work to improve them, and the 58 members of the Executive Council are elected on the basis of decisions of the General Conference, with the need to combine the various countries of the world in their selection.

UNESCO Programs

UNESCO programs are divided into five main sectors:


UNESCO promotes education as a means of economic and social development throughout the world.

“Education for All” is the largest of these programs, which aims to expand early childhood care and education, provide free education for all children, increase adult literacy, and establish universal educational standards for reading and mathematics.

It is worth mentioning that the United Nations Girls’ Education Initiative aims to ensure that girls and boys have equal opportunities to succeed in school and focuses on educational opportunities for girls and the obstacles they face at home and in their communities.

Natural Sciences

UNESCO’s natural sciences sector organize international programs and research in the fields of science, engineering, and renewable energy. Its programs aim to respond to the scientific aspects of international issues such as climate change and poverty. This sector focuses on natural disasters and in underdeveloped countries, particularly in Africa.

Social and Human Sciences

The mission of UNESCO’s Social and Human Sciences Sector is to improve the social conditions of member countries by encouraging intellectual cooperation in the values of justice and freedom.

Through this program, UNESCO supports human rights and combating all forms of discrimination to ensure human rights throughout the world. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights states: “All human beings are born free, equal in dignity and rights”.


UNESCO’s Cultural Program is responsible for the protection and management of the world heritage in all its forms. The list of World Heritage sites established in 1972 is one of the most important programs of the cultural sector. UNESCO defines heritage in six categories: Cultural, natural, tangible, intangible, movable and immovable.

Communications and Information

UNESCO’s ICT sector aims to achieve two main objectives:

  • Promote access to information for all people.
  • Encourage diverse and varied forms of expression in the media.

It is worth mentioning that the ICT sector helps to improve the performance of media professionals through training.


  1. ↑ Caroline Oberheu (2017-8-1), “What Is UNESCO?”، world atlas, Retrieved 2018-4-8. Edited.
  2. ↑ “Introducing UNESCO”, UNESCO, Retrieved 2018-4-8. Edited.
  3. ↑ “Introducing UNESCO: what we are”, UNESCO, Retrieved 2018-4-8. Edited.
  4. ↑ “UNESCO”, national geographic, Retrieved 2018-4-8. Edited.
  5. ↑ “United Nations Educational, Scientific, And Cultural Organization”, www.encyclopedia.com, Retrieved 11-2-2018. Edited.
  6. ↑ “Introducing UNESCO: what we are”, www.unesco.org, Retrieved 11-2-2018. Edited.
  7. ^ أ ب ت ث ج “UNESCO”, www.nationalgeographic.org, Retrieved 11-2-2018. Edited.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here